Film academy invites hundreds to join Oscar vote

Actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus in 2010. (File) (Valerie Macon, Getty Images)
Actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus in 2010. (File) (Valerie Macon, Getty Images)
Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 6/26 6:38 pm

LOS ANGELES (AP) — A total of nearly 300 people working in the movie business have been asked to join its most exclusive club -- the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which casts the votes for the Oscars every year.

Lupita Nyong'o, Chris Rock, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jason Statham and Michael Fassbender are among those invited to the actors branch, the academy announced Thursday. Music invitees include Pharrell Williams, Eddie Vedder and the Oscar-winning writers of "Let It Go," Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.

The film academy extends invitations annually to new members. Candidates are suggested by existing members of each of the organization's 17 branches.

Those who join the academy become permanent members and cast ballots for the Academy Awards.

©2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

The views expressed here do not necessarily represent those of FOX23 News.

No comments yet!
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.