Carolina's Rivera wins coaching honor

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 2/01 7:44 pm

New York, NY ( - Carolina's Ron Rivera, who was signed to a three-year contract extension earlier this week, was honored Saturday as the NFL Coach of the Year in voting conducted by the Associated Press.

Carolina, behind quarterback Cam Newton, went 12-4 and won the NFC South in Rivera's third season at the helm.

Rivera is 25-23 as the Panthers coach. They have improved each year under Rivera and Newton, who both joined the team in 2011 -- Rivera as John Fox's replacement and Newton as the No. 1 draft pick.

The Panthers have won 16 of their last 20 regular-season games dating back to a four-game winning streak to end the 2012 season.

They had a franchise-record eight-game winning streak this season and earned the NFC's No. 2 seed, but lost 23-10 to San Francisco in the divisional round.

Rivera received 21 1/2 votes to beat out Kansas City's Andy Reid (13 1/2). New England's Bill Belichick (7), Philadelphia's Chip Kelly (4), Seattle's Pete Carroll (2) and Indianapolis' Bruce Arians (2) were the others receiving consideration.

This is the second time a Carolina coach has won the award. Dom Capers captured the honor in the 1996 season.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.