Seve FCS teams banned from postseason

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/14 4:24 pm

Indianapolis, IN ( - Seven FCS programs, all but one from the level's two conferences for historically black colleges and universities, received postseason bans Wednesday for poor NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate scores.

The bans, based on four-year APR data, were lobbied against Alabama State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Mississippi Valley State and Prairie View A&M from the Southwestern Athletic Conference and Florida A&M and Savannah State from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference as well as Saint Francis (Pennsylvania) from the Northeast Conference.

Programs with APR penalties usually have significantly fewer resources than those at top NCAA programs.

APR scores measure the classroom performance of a team over a four-year period. The new scores reflect the 2009-10 through 2012-13 school years.

A perfect score is 1,000. The overall four-year APR score in Division I is 976.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.