Shaq, Hill headline college basketball HOF class

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 3/25 12:06 pm

Kansas City, MO ( - Shaquille O'Neal and NCAA champions Grant Hill and Darrell Griffith headline the 2014 class for the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Joining the trio will be O'Neal's coach at LSU, Dale Brown, as well as NCAA champion coach Gary Williams, Zelmo Beaty, Glenn Wilkes Sr. and Howie Garfinkel.

O'Neal was the national player of the year in 1991 and '92 at LSU. He helped the Tigers to a record of 64-29 in three years and averaged 22 points, 14 rebounds and five blocks during his stellar career.

Hill won a pair of national championships with Duke in 1991 and '92 and led the Blue Devils to a record of 118-23 in his four-year stint. He averaged 15 points and six rebounds during his career, earning ACC Player of the Year honors as a senior.

Griffith led Louisville to the NCAA crown and was the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four in 1980. He was also the national player of the year in 1980 and steered the Cardinals to a mark of 101-25 in four years, averaging 19 points and five rebounds.

Brown coached at LSU from 1972-97 and led the Tigers to a record of 448-301 with Final Four appearances in 1981 and '86. He was a four-time SEC Coach of the Year and the national coach of the year in 1981.

Williams led Maryland to the 2002 NCAA Tournament championship and compiled a record of 461-252 from 1989-2011 with the Terrapins. He was the national coach of the year in 2002. Before his highly successful run at Maryland, Williams also coached American, Boston College and Ohio State, finishing with an overall record of 668-330 in 33 years.

Beaty played for Prairie View A&M during the early 1960s and led the school to an NAIA championship in 1962. He averaged 25 points and 20 rebounds during his four seasons.

Wilkes led Stetson to a record of 551-436 from 1957-93, while Garfinkel will enter the Hall as a contributor after starting the first high school scouting service in 1965 and establishing the Five-Star Basketball Camp the following year.

The induction ceremony will take place Nov. 23 in Kansas City.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.