South Korea beats Chicago in LLWS final

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 8/24 6:10 pm

South Williamsport, PA ( - Jae Yeong Hwang and Jin Woo Jeon both had two RBI, as South Korea defeated Chicago 8-4 Sunday afternoon to capture its third Little League World Series title.

South Korea had a four-run sixth inning to go up 8-1, but needed to survive a rally from the Great Lakes Region champions.

Dong Wan Sin made a diving grab in right field after Chicago opened the bottom of the sixth with consecutive hits. Darion Radcliff then singled in both runners and eventually scored on a passed ball.

DJ Butler drew a two-out walk to keep Chicago's hopes alive, but Ed Howard grounded into a fielder's choice to end the game.

Hae Chan Choi hit a solo home run during the sixth and pitched the final four innings for South Korea, which also won World Series titles in 1984 and 1985.

Chicago starter Brandon Green tossed 5 2/3 innings.

Earlier, Japan posted a 5-0 victory over Las Vegas in the consolation game.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.